Broke Ass Vegan Gourmet – Teriyaki Noodle Bowl

Welcome to the first installment of my new series: Broke Ass Vegan Gourmet. As the title suggests, this is for all of us broke ass people out there whom also happen to be vegans. In spite of the rumors, living on a freelancer’s budget is not all it’s cracked up to be. Often times I find myself getting creative with meals in order to stretch my budget a little further. This can lead to some not-so-conventional recipes.

Ramen noodles. A staple for college students and broke ass people everywhere. With flavors such a beef, chicken, and shrimp, among others, a vegan’s first instinct would be to avoid them like the plague. Upon closer inspection of the ingredients, however, the noodles themselves are technically vegan. For this recipe we’ll be tossing out the seasoning packet, so it really doesn’t matter what flavor you get, just throw the cheapest ones in the cart

IMG_4633 Often times, when writers blog about their recipes they include some insightful or touching story to go along with it. The back story for this recipe doesn’t include summers spent at Grandma’s cottage or slaving away in the kitchen with my mother. The story about this recipe has its own unique charm. There I was standing in the grocery store – broke, vegan, and hungry. I had $20 to last until I received my next check and I also needed gas in my car. A quick google search revealed that ramen noodles (the noodles only) were vegan. I grabbed a pack along with a bag of frozen stir fry veggies, and for the low low price of $1.98 I had lunch for the day.  I thought about adding vegetable broth, but I didn’t have any left. In a jam, I spotted some soy and teriyaki sauces in the fridge… and alas the broke ass teriyaki noodle bowl was born.

 

IMG_0538

Broke Ass Teriyaki Noodle Bowl

1 package ramen (any flavor, throw out the seasoning packet)

1 1lb bag of frozen stir fry vegetables

1/4 cup soy sauce

1/2 cup teriyaki sauce

To begin, fill up a pot with water. Enough for the ramen brick and frozen veggies to float freely, but if you’re anal about measurements then around 8 cups should be sufficient. Bring water to a boil, then add in the ramen noodles and the entire bag of frozen stir fry vegetables.

IMG_4118

Continue boiling noodles and vegetables until noodles are soft and vegetables are hot (apx. 5-10 mins).

Drain the water and place the noodles back into the pot – or a large mixing bowl if you’re feeling fancy.  Add in the soy and teriyaki sauces. Mix well. Bon a Petite!

IMG_0533

This isn’t the type of meal that nutritional content is taken into consideration, but if you’re looking for something cheap, easy, and vegan then this is about as good as it gets. With the rising cost of produce, veganism can get rather expensive at times. Sometimes we budget conscious vegans have to get creative in our meal planning. I hope this article has inspired someone out there, and I hope to bring you other broke ass recipes in the future. Stay tuned!

 

Leave a Reply

